Company Certification International | Halal Certification
page-template-default,page,page-id-15941,page-child,parent-pageid-15721,qode-quick-links-1.0,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode-theme-ver-11.0,qode-theme-bridge,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.1.1,vc_responsive

Halal Certification

  • What is the meaning of “Halal” ?
    Halal is an Arabic word meaning lawful. It refers to things or actions permitted by Shariah law without punishment imposed on the doer. It is usually used to describe something that a Muslim is permitted to engage in, e.g. eat, drink or use.

    The word “halal” refers to an Islamic law meaning lawful. Halal foods are those processed in accordance with the Islamic law. While most foods are considered halal, to be officially called halal, they must be processed under halal certification. The following foods are not considered halal:

    • Pork and its by-products;

    • Any animal improperly slaughtered or dead before slaughter;

    • Animals killed in the name of anyone other than Allah (God);

    • Alcohol and intoxicants;

    • Carnivorous animals, birds of prey;

    • Land animals without external ears;

    • Blood and blood by-products;

    • Foods contaminated with any of the above products; and

    • Food containing gelatin, enzymes, emulsifiers or similar ingredients, as the origin of these ingredients is unknown.


  • What is the meaning of “Haram” ?The opposite of halal is haram , which is Arabic for unlawful or prohibited.what is Haram food ?All kinds of food are considered halal except the following, which are haram:Swine/pork and its by-products.Animals improperly slaughtered or dead before slaughtering .Animals not slaughtered in the name of Allah .

    Alcohol and all forms of intoxicating and hazardous drinks .

    Carnivorous animals, birds of prey, and land animals without external ears .

    Pests such as rats, centipedes, scorpions and other similar animals .

    Animals forbidden to be killed in Islam e.g. ants, bees, spider and woodpecker birds .

    Animals which are considered repulsive generally like lice, flies, maggots and other similar animals .

    Animals that live both on land and in water such as frogs, crocodiles and other similar animals .

    Blood and by-products of blood .

    Foods and drinks which contain any of the above haram ingredients or contaminated through contact with any of the above products .

Get Quick Quote

Company Name



No. Of Shifts



Sector / Industry

Your Message

Halal Certification

Halal Certification is a recognition that the products are premissible under Islamic law. These products are thus edible, drinkable or usable by Muslims.

By receiving halal certification, your food product can be consumed by the Islamic population. Halal certification includes an application process and then an audit/inspection. The audit/inspection of the facility will include a review of your process, ingredients, products, and sanitation procedures. Halal certification can be issued on a year to year basis or for each batch of product produced.

For meat to be certified as halal, it must be slaughtered with an instrument made of any material except bone or nails and the animal must be facing the direction of Mecca. The instrument must cut the four jugular veins from the front of the neck with no other part of the neck being severed (e.g. spinal cord).

Animals cannot be hit on the head or any similar method of stunning (e.g. stun gun, stun hammer, and carbon dioxide are not allowed). The animal must stay alive until the time its veins are cut. Electrical stunning is not permitted for poultry. During the slaughter process, the name “Allah” must be spoken.

What are the Benefits of Halal Certification?

• Opportunities to tap a global Halal food market of about 2 billion people (Middle east , Asia Pacific ,EU,USA,LATAM,Central Asia)

• Halal logo is an authoritative, independent and reliable testimony to support Halal food claims

• 200% profit of greater market share: No loss of non-Muslim markets/clients

• Enhance marketability of products in Muslim countries/markets

• Small cost investment relative to multiple growth in revenues

• Image boosts in meeting varied customer needs.

• Improve the food preparation hygienic system

• Improve the food quality into global standards



Presently, Muis offers 7 types of Halal certification schemes to suit the various categories of the food and food-related industry. They are:

Eating Establishment Scheme
Issued to retail food establishments such as restaurants, school canteen stalls, snack bars, Halal corners, confectioneries, bakery shops, stalls within a foodcourt or its equivalent and temporary stalls in bazaars, flea market, trade fairs, etc

Endorsement Scheme
Issued to imported, exported or re-exported products in respect of which Halal certificates have been issued

Food Preparation Area Scheme
Issued to catering establishments and central kitchen facilities

Poultry Abattoir Scheme
Issued to poultry abattoirs for their freshly-slaughtered poultry

Product Scheme
Issued to products which are manufactured or partly manufactured/processed in Singapore

Storage Facility Scheme
Issued to stationary and mobile storage facilities such as warehouses and coldrooms

Whole Plant Scheme
Issued to manufacturing facilities and all products manufactured therein. In addition to the above, Muis also provides Halal Food Certification for social functions such as luncheons, weddings, seminars, corporate gatherings, etc. organised in hotels, exhibition halls or outdoor locations.